1. Look at several instructions (for a specific plan) for elementary students. Match with tasks.

(3,1,2)

No. Instructions Worksheet
1 Now we are going to do the listening comprehension task. Listen and fill in the gaps with the appropriate word. My grandparents were Russian but they met in London

Она была служанкой в России и работала на богатую семью.

They took my grandmother and some of their servants with them to London.

У них было слишком много служанок.

They went for a walk in the centre of London.

Они (Никогда) не вернулись.

She waited and waited.

Ей было 16.

She found some Russian people.

Русские люди привели бабушку в сообщество русских в Лондоне.

She met my grandfather in London.

Ему было 48 лет.

They had 2 children.

 

2 Now you are A, you are B, so you are going to translate and you are going to check. Now, once again, what are you going to do?
Met
Servant
Worked
Took
Too many
For a walk
Waited
16
Found
Community
48
Children
3 So what I am doing now is I am giving you words and then I will ask you to say sentences about the woman and you are going to work in pairs. Mmmm… yes… I think that’s it. 1.       David’s grandmother worked for a __________ family.

2.       During First World War the family took David’s grandmother and some other ________with them.

3.       The family did not have _________ to keep David’s grandmother.

4.       The family went for a walk in the ______of London.

5.       She was ________years old.

6.       David’s grandmother found some ________people.

David’s grandparents had 2 _____________.

 

  1. What is wrong with each of these instructions? (S-S, WCFB)

(the language, the length, the running commentary, the amount of information, the  “What are you going to do?”)

  1. Tick the things each instruction should have.

 

Instruction Tick good things to do
I need to use short simple words  
I always tell what I am doing now  
I always ask instructions checking questions  
I demonstrate the activity (with somebody in the class)  
I can use “what are you going to do?” to check the understanding of my instructions  
I need to use hands and gestures.  
I tell the students all the methodological thermins (ex.Now you will read for gist)  
They open the books/I give out the worksheets before the instructions  

 

Answers:

V

X

V

V

X

V

X

x

  1.  Put these in order.
No Instruction
  I demonstrate the activity (if necessary) or ask instructions checking questions (ICQs)
  I show (“chest”) the material they will be using in the next task
  I tell them to open the books/ start doing the activity
  I attract the Ss’ attention to me.
  I give clear short instructions, possibly with hand gestures and mimics.
  I tell the Ss to check in pairs and we check together as a group.
  I tell how much time they have to complete the task
  I monitor (walk and see if the Ss need help/repeat part of the instruction individually)
  Then I relax and remind them when he time is over.

 

Answers:

5
2
6
1
3
9
4
7
8

 

  1. What instructions will you use for the tasks in 1? (s-s, give a chance for the excellent Ss to demonstrate)
  2. Groups of three. Give instructions to the tasks. (S-S-S, one by one they take printed tasks, adapt the instructions to elementary Ss)

Perform DEC

